Who is the Captain of CSK IPL 2024?

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has stepped down from the captaincy of CSK after leading the team for more than a decade. Ruturaj Gaikwad will replace Mahendra Singh Dhoni, under whom Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has won five titles.

According to reports, CSK CEO Kasi Vishwanathan said that talks were held this month about succession planning at the franchise. It was expected that Mahendra Singh Dhoni would captain CSK in IPL 2024, starting from March 22.

Dhoni had dismissed retirement rumors last year and said that he would return to play for Chennai Super Kings for at least one more season and this was a return gift from him to the fans.

The former captain of the Indian cricket team was battling a knee injury last year when he led the Super Kings to the fifth IPL title. MS Dhoni reached Chennai in the first week of March and is leading CSK’s training session at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Who is the Captain of CSK IPL 2024?

Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK) appointed Ruturaj Gaikwad as its new captain on March 21, while Mahendra Singh Dhoni stepped down from the captaincy after a very successful tenure.

The announcement will come as a shock to CSK fans as the IPL franchise won five IPL titles under Dhoni’s captaincy and earned him the title of ‘Thalaivaa’ (Tamil for leader).

MS Dhoni’s decision comes a day before the high-stakes opening match of IPL 2024 between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Ruturaj Gaikwad CSK’s new captain for IPL 2024

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has appointed Ruturaj Gaikwad as its captain for IPL 2024, taking over the captaincy from legendary MS Dhoni. The announcement was made on the eve of the tournament opener, which will see defending champions CSK face off against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chepauk on Friday.

This was announced on the evening of the opening ceremony of the tournament. This is the second time Dhoni has stepped down from the captaincy and he also did so in 2022 by handing over the role to Ravindra Jadeja but took it back after CSK’s poor start.

MS Dhoni resigns as CSK captain, Ruturaj Gaikwad handed over command

Dhoni’s record as captain

MS Dhoni left the post of IPL’s most-capped captain, having played 235 matches, winning 128 and losing 82. During his tenure, Dhoni led CSK to five IPL titles – 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023 and two now-defunct Champions League titles.

Read Also:- IPL 2024 Fan Parks List


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.